Law enforcement personnel control the scene of a shooting in Half Moon Bay, California on Monday, January 23. (Jeff Chiu/AP)

Deputies were alerted to a shooting in the unincorporated San Mateo County at 2:22 p.m. PT (5:22 p.m. ET), San Mateo Sheriff Christina Corpus said during a news conference Monday night.

Upon arrival, deputies found four people dead with gunshot wounds. A fifth victim was taken to Stanford Medical Center and is in critical condition. Three additional victims were found later at a separate shooting scene, Corpus said.

At 4:40 p.m. PT (7:40 p.m. ET), Corpus says the suspected gunman — a 67-year-old man from Half Moon Bay — was taken into custody without incident. At that time, a handgun was found in his vehicle, Corpus said.

He acted alone and his motive is unknown, Corpus said.

Source link

You May Also Like

Missing Texas teen arrested after body found in trunk following Nebraska car chase

A 17-year-old has been arrested in a Texas homicide investigation after authorities…

Firefighter suffers injuries while battling large blaze at business in Spring, officials say

SPRING, Texas – An investigation is underway after firefighters battled a large…

Obama interrupted by protester during Michigan rally: ‘Come on’

Former President Barack Obama dealt with a heckler in Michigan on Saturday…

Opinion | Trump’s Moment Has Passed

In 2010, the Tea Party movement enjoyed the support of 52 percent…

ICYMI: A look back at Sunday’s 60 Minutes

Janet Yellen on recession fears, inflation and the war in Ukraine; Families…

Inside Intel’s Delays in Delivering a Crucial New Microprocessor

Last May, Sandra Rivera, a top executive at the chip giant Intel,…